Swiss Chard White Bean Soup

Hi friends.

Five things to share with you this morning.

  1. I finally caved and bought the iPhone.  Haven’t bought any other Christmas gifts yet, but I bought myself the iPhone.  Still can’t figure out how to use it.
  2. I hate the sound of someone slurping.  Is there anything more annoying?
  3. Why are Christmas tree skirts so darn expensive everywhere?!  If only I knew someone who can sew one for me…
  4. I really like Swiss Chard.  Nutrient powerhouse.
  5. I have been fighting off a stupid cold all week long.   My rule of thumb in terms of exercising when I’m sick is that if the sickness is above the neck, it’s okay to try and sweat it out, just being mindful that I may not be able to push as hard as I normally would.  But if the sickness is below the neck, aka in my chest/lunges or a stomach bug, I’m down for the count.  That being said, I did take Kix and teach class yesterday after spending the day working from home with a box of tissues, a blanket, cough drops, eye drops, tea, and soup.

Homemade soup, made by Tim!

I guess I’m sharing six things if you count this recipe.

Swiss Chard White Bean Soup

Swiss Chard White Bean Soup

Recipe inspired by The Food Network, serves 4

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 cans (15.5 ounces) cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cups of low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 roasted red pepper, chopped (or a twelve ounce jar of roasted red pepper, drained and chopped)
  • 5 cloves of garlic (4 minced, 1 whole)
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 bunch Swiss chard, leaves chopped
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a medium pot over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the onion, celery, and some salt.  Cook until the vegetables are golden brown, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the beans and broth, bring to a simmer and cook 15 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, heat the remaining 3 tablespoons olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.
  5. Add the roasted peppers, minced garlic and cilantro.  Cook until the garlic is soft, about 2 minutes.
  6. Stir in the chard, cover, and cook until wilted, 1 to 2 minutes.
  7. Scrape the contents of the skillet into the pot and simmer until heated through, about 5 minutes.
  8. Season with salt and pepper, then enjoy.

Swiss Chard White Bean Soup

This has been helping my sore throat all week since it started hurting on Monday night.

Sluuuurp.

Your turn to share something.

Then go have a great Wednesday, and I hope everyone is feeling better than I am!

7 thoughts on “Swiss Chard White Bean Soup

  1. This looks awesome thanks for sharing! Did you try Xmas tree shop for tree skirt? There is one in Somerville right off 93 worth a trip…its in the same plaza of a bed bath beyond and tj max/homegoods…lets just say its not healthy that I pass it every night 🙂

    Like

  2. I got my skirt at Christmas tree shop and it wasn’t too expensive! I saw some nicer ones at Target yesterday though and was surprised to see that they’re $40! I quilted a really nice one when I was younger, but my parents still use it…I might have to steal it back at some point…

    Like

  3. 1. Yayyyyyy! Now you can be an Instagram freak like me!!!!
    2. Should totally commission my mom for the tree skirt.
    3. Fun fact: I noticed Tyler spelled my name ‘jenn’ on one if my Xmas gifts and on a sugar cookie he decorated last night. #fail

    Like

  4. If you want a tree skirt I could do one for next year. The kits are usually on sale after Christmas. I wont have time to make one for you this year, though

    Like

  5. Pingback: 13 Healthy Soup Recipes to Try from thePlate Community

I'd love to hear from you! Leave a comment.

