My First Protein Cookies

I’m back with another recipe for you guys.  Two in one day… you lucky ducks.

Last week was one of those weeks where I had a few bananas that were way over-ripe and I needed to solve the emergency of potentially wasted food (the horror!).  I started browsing through all my bookmarked recipes, when I came across one for protein cookies that my friend Bethany sent around to some of the gym girls back in January.  I had yet to try it, so I decided to give them a whirl.  In fact, I realized I had never really made any type of protein cookie before!

Here’s how my version ended up looking.  I did alter some things slightly.

Protein Cookies

My First Protein Cookies

Makes about 16 cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of oats
  • 2 heaping scoops of chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 bananas
  • 2/3 cups unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup all natural unsalted peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup agave
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine the bananas, applesauce, peanut butter, vanilla, and protein powder in a bowl.  It will look soupy – don’t fret!
  3. Stir in the oats (I put them in the food processor first).
  4. Then add the honey, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, flour, and agave.  Stir.
  5. Fold in the walnuts if desired, and give one last stir until all combined.
  6. Scoop spoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheets.
  7. Bake for about 20 minutes.

Protein Cookies

These came out pretty good for my first attempt at baking a protein cookie.  They had the consistency of a Clif bar, which I liked.  I felt like when I ate one, I was satisfying my craving for a snack without feeling like I consumed too much sugar.  I packed these for a snack on Marathon Monday in case I got hungry waiting for a table to eat lunch (I did), I’ve enjoyed a couple on the way to work to hold me over (yes! cookies for breakfast!), and they’ve been a nice after dinner treat as well.  If you want something sweeter though, this cookie isn’t for you!  It is meant to be healthier, after all.  Next time I’ll probably experiment with some different add-ins.  Raisins? White chocolate chips?  Thoughts?

Have you ever baked protein cookies before?  Ideas?  Thank you, Bethany, for this recipe!

I’m off to the Y!  I’m excited to be back teaching class this week, and with a themed playlist too.  Haven’t made a themed playlist in quite some time.  Yay!

Chocolate Chip Sweet Potato Pancakes

You guys are good.

You don’t let anything get by you.

Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Not anything with chocolate chips.

Not anything with sweet potato.

Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip Pancakes

And definitely not anything with both chocolate chips AND sweet potatoes.

In this week’s weekly meal plan post, I mentioned that a noteworthy breakfast I enjoyed over the weekend involved chocolate chip sweet potato pancakes.  You guys swooped right in to demand this recipe.

I don’t really blame you.

Chocolate Chip Sweet Potato Pancakes

Makes 4 medium-bigger sized pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 large sweet potato, baked and mashed
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (any milk would be fine)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of salt

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
  2. Spray or grease skillet over medium high heat.
  3. Pour enough batter onto skillet to make one pancake, then flip away.
  4. Repeat x3, then enjoy your breakfast.

Chocolate Chip Sweet Potato Pancakes

These were so tasty with some sliced banana on the side and a dab of maple syrup on top.

Let’s chat!  What’s your favorite pancake to have on the weekends?  

If you are looking for more pancake ideas, check out these past F&F pancake posts:

Enjoy the day!