Back to Blogging

Welp, I’m back.

Sorry for the three-day hiatus.  That’s the most time I’ve gone without having a blog post scheduled in a long time.  I decided to take Friday through Monday off from all exercise and all blogging.  My posts from Friday and Saturday were already written and scheduled before I decided to take some time to myself.  Between my birthday and still settling in from my move, I didn’t want to feel stressed about the things I love most.  There is no fun in feeling obligated to get to the gym or to blog.  After all, I do these things for ME.  So, sorry I’m not sorry for my little mental health break.

Did you miss me though?  My friend Shannon asked me if I was sick because I hadn’t posted.  I’m good, Shan!

The Importance of Rest

I feel rested and rejuvenated because I was really pushing my body in the past couple of weeks.  Workout wise, I’ve been really switching things up especially in regards to my strength training.  I’m using heavier weights and learning different types of strength workouts, thanks to Best Body Bootcamp.  It’s all good, but I think I was getting a little carried away and starting to over-train a bit.  It’s very easy, especially when it’s part of your job, to over-exercise, but rest and recovery are actually essential components to any exercise program!  It’s actually during REST when your muscles repair themselves and become stronger for the next stress placed upon them.  You can actually damage weight loss efforts and muscle growth by over-training your body.

[Source]

I need to remind myself of this and not feel guilty for “skipping” the gym more than two days a week.

I work hard.  I do a lot.  And I deserve a break every once in a while. 

By last Thursday, I was feeling so WEAK and achy, sore, and overworked.  My hip was killing me, and I <gasp> didn’t even want to exercise.  But you know what?  Four days off did the trick, because tonight I felt fab in both workouts.  Yay for Two A Day Tuesday!  And burpees!

That’s my awk “I felt fab” picture.  Disregard the mess/piles things I don’t know what to do with behind me.

Hmm, since I took some rest, my “Weekly Workouts” is going to look a little different from most weeks.

Last Week’s Workouts

  • Sunday:  Taught Spin class at the Y
  • Monday:  Took Ashley’s Cutz class
  • Tuesday:  Two A Day Tuesday – took Liz’s Kickboxing, then Monique auditioned (and got hired!) during my Circuit class.  Was nice to not have to plan Tuesday class during my move week, that was well-timed!
  • Wednesday:  Off
  • Thursday:  Taught Circuit class, using a workout from bootcamp
  • Friday:  Off
  • Saturday:  Off

This Week’s Workouts

  • Sunday:  Off
  • Monday:  Off
  • Tuesday:  Today!  Two A Day!  I taught Workout A from Best Body Bootcamp (adapted to class of course!) and loved it.
  • Wednesday:  Going to do some cardio from Best Body Bootcamp
  • Thursday:  Teaching Workout C from Best Body Bootcamp in Circuit
  • Friday:  TBD
  • Saturday:  TBD

I’m going to get going and hit the hay soon, tomorrow is the first day of my new job!  Words cannot even begin to express how excited I am for this new opportunity.  That being said, my blog posts and blog post times may become a little more sporadic.  I’m not sure yet!

When’s the last time you took a true rest as part of your exercise program?

Night!