Skinny Sips: Nectarine Basil Vodka Collins

I don’t post too much about alcohol on the blog.  If I do, it’s usually A) because I’ve had too much and feel the need to tell you all about it, or B) just a brief mention of whatever cocktail or beer I had with dinner, or at an event, etc.

The July/August issue of Women’s Health had a whole feature on “Skinny Sips.”  The summery cocktails highlighted in the article all supposedly have 200 calories or less as well as other health benefits to them.  Now obviously a virgin drink is a much healthier choice than an alcoholic one, but they are not as fun!  Since I do love trying new and interesting cocktails (I’m just terrible at making them, legit I would be the worst bartender of all time), I decided I would give one of the “Skinny Sips” a try during my vacation week down the Cape.

We decided to try the Nectarine-Basil Vodka Collins, because we had most of the ingredients already on hand!

 

Nectarine-Basil Vodka Collins

Makes one drink

Ingredients

  • 1.5 ounces of Square One Basil Organic Vodka
  • 1 wedge of lemon muddled with 3 slices of nectarine and 1 tsp agave nectar
  • 2-4 oz. seltzer

Ghetto version like ours:  Use the vodka you have on hand and shake a little basil in there from your spice rack.  The specs of basil didn’t bother us!

Directions

  1. Muddle per the above.
  2. Shake it all up, then combine ingredients in a chilled glass.
  3. Serve with ice and garnish with a nectarine slice.

This drink was definitely refreshing.  But it also tasted better after the ingredients had been sitting together for a while.  So maybe make a batch and let it chill before you indulge.

Women’s Health says:  We love an herb with a perk.  Basil has been shown to lower blood glucose and cholesterol levels. 

In that case, I’ll have another!!

What are your favorite “Skinny Sips?”

Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

One thought on “Skinny Sips: Nectarine Basil Vodka Collins

  1. Pingback: Vacation Meal Planning | Fitness & Feta

I'd love to hear from you! Leave a comment.