Triple Incline Walking Treadmill Workout

You guys. Incline walking is no joke.

My typical cardio machines of choice (at least lately) are the elliptical, rowing machine, or spin bike. I like the treadmill too when I’m in the mood to run (and when my injuries aren’t acting up). However, when I work out at the Waltham branch Y, there’s only one rower and one spin bike available in the cardio room. Last Sunday, neither machine was available, and I had absolutely no desire to hop on the elliptical. Instead, I decided to make up a walking treadmill workout on the spot before hitting the weight room.

Here’s what my walking workout ended up looking like:

Triple Incline Walking Treadmill Workout

Doing this workout was completely humbling. I was hauling some serious you know what on those steeper inclines! I had to hold on at a couple of points, and I honestly felt like I wanted to take the incline off and start running at a flat road to make it easier. Ha!

I really felt this in my legs the next day. I thought it was from increasing the weight on my squats (I’m up to 105 pounds now), but I quickly realized that this incline was the actual culprit. Just goes to show how doing something DIFFERENT can really affect your body.

This workout can certainly be adapted to your own inclines and speeds of choice, just make sure you follow the same pattern of slight incline, moderate incline, and heavy incline. That can be whatever it means to YOU. It also can be done for however long you want… or however many times you want to brave the inclines! 😉

–Let’s chat–Do you ever do walking workouts? What about incline workouts? What is your cardio machine of choice at the gym?

For more cardio machine workouts, check out my cardio page.