Product Review: Delgrosso’s Old Style Pizza Sauce

One of my favorite kind of nights is homemade pizza night.  I love splurging on pizza, but I would rather make my own pizza with fresh veggies than order out.  I like being able to control the amount of oil and salt that goes into the pizza, it saves money, and it’s a fun activity that Tim and I like to do together.

pizza-party

On Sunday I tried to venture to the grocery store for our weekly stock up trip, but the shelves of Stop & Shop were literally empty after the storm.  I had about 8 produce items on my list, but I walked out of the produce section with one solitary garlic bulb.  Really?  Not even one singular banana was left?  Even a brown one?  Oof.  I picked up a few other items that were in stock, including whole wheat pizza dough and chicken sausage.  Pizza night it was!

Recently, La Famiglia Delgrosso sent me two jars of their new Pappy Fred’s Old Style Pizza Sauce, so I figured it would be the perfect night to try it with our chicken sausage, spinach, and garlic pizza.  You guys may remember the Delgrosso’s from when they sent me a three pack pasta sauce sampler last spring.  For anyone who thinks “sauce is just sauce,” I’m sorry but you are wrong.  And you should stop buying Ragu just because it’s the cheapest jar of sauce at the grocery store.  Immediately.

La Famiglia DelGrosso Pappy Fred's Old Style Pizza Sauce

The Delgrosso’s pizza sauce really does taste so fresh, and you can tell it’s made with care.  It’s just authentic!  Pappy Fred really knew what he was doing.

Chicken Sausage, Spinach, and Garlic Pizza

It was delicious on our pizza.  And paired well with red wine.  😉

Delgrosso Pizza Sauce

Thank you, Delgrosso’s – I can’t wait to use the rest for future homemade pizza nights.  Tim and I want to try to make our own sauce sometime soon too!

What kind of pizza or pasta sauce do you usually buy?  Do you usually shop for taste or for price?

P.S.  One of my gym friends, Monique, just started a food/fitness/wine blog of her own.  Check it out at Burpees to Bubbly!