Peanut Butter & Pretzel Truffles

How’s everyone’s day going?

Work Clothes

I’m wondering.  Does anyone else just not try anymore when they get ready for work?  I used to.  But now on most days, I’m so busy running around from place to place (or just so tired) that I have pretty much just given up on looking my best for work.  For me that means my hair goes up wet (and by the end of the day is a big poofy thick mess), minimal makeup, and pretty much the same outfits every week on rotation.  Frump McGee.  However, I find that because of this, when I actually wear a cute outfit, different clothes, or wear my hair down and straight, I get a ton of compliments.  And a ton of “omg what’s different?” or “did you cut your hair?” comments.

Nope, just got ready today.

Today was one of those days.  Sorry for the random rant.

Morning Workout

Tim and I celebrated Valentine’s Day a little early in the North End last night.  Since we chalked the night up to a calorie fest, we woke up early this morning to get in a good am sweat sesh together.

Remember my post on all the things I’ve won lately?  Well, one of the things I won was a customized 4 week workout plan by Tina at Best Body Fitness.  Today I started my first workout in the training plan, and I loved it!  Thanks so much, Tina!  If you guys like the looks of this workout, make sure to click over to Tina’s blog and check out her stuff – it’s good, and on my daily reading material.  😉

Circuit Intervals with Pyramid Strength Sets

How to do this workout:

  • 5 minute warmup I did a jog, single hop jumps, jumping jacks, leg swings, and stretching.
  • All exercises in Set 1. 
  • 10 minutes of cardio at a quick, challenging pace & resistance – I went on the elliptical at a level 10 crossramp with a 6-8 resistance.
  • All exercises in Set 2.
  • 10 minutes of cardio at a quick, challenging pace & resistance – This time I kept a level 10 crossramp, but did an 8 resistance the whole time.
  • All exercises in Set 3.
  • Cooldown and stretch.

As you can see, you start with more reps in the first set but have less in Sets 2 and 3.  You should start with light to moderate weights for Set 1, and then increase accordingly as the reps decrease.  I used ten pound weights for Set 1, twelve pound weights for Set 2, and fifteen pound weights for Set 3.

Exceptions:  I used five pounds consistently for the lateral shoulder raises to play it safe on my shoulder, and since the lat pulldowns were done with a machine (I never use machines!) I used forty pounds for Set 1 and then fifty pounds for Sets 2 & 3.  Sixty was too much!  For the men out there, I’m not sure what size weights Tim used but please choose accordingly.

On my iPod for the cardio portions?

  • “Helena Beat” by Foster the People
  • “Rock the Casbah” by The Clash
  • “Lovefool” by A Newfound Glory
  • “Don’t Fear the Reaper” by Blue Oyster Cult

I didn’t listen to my iPod for the strength components because that would be rude of me, considering I dragged Tim out of bed so early to workout with me!

I am happy I got my workout over with nice and early today.  I definitely felt more energetic throughout the day and less tired at my desk.

Another Valentine’s Day Treat

Still need a Valentine’s treat to make?  This morning I posted the recipe for my Valentine’s M&M Pretzel Bites, but here’s another equally as delicious choice!

I actually made these for Tim’s Super Bowl party last week, but think they would be great for a Valentine’s gift as well.  Especially in pretty packaging.  They are a great combination of salty and sweet!

Peanut Butter & Pretzel Truffles

Recipe inspired by EatingWell

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup crunchy natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped salted pretzels
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, melted

(Makes 20 truffles)

Directions

  1. Combine peanut butter and pretzels in a small bowl.
  2. Chill in the freezer until firm, about 15 minutes.
  3. Roll the peanut butter mixture into 20 balls (about 1 teaspoon each).
  4. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment or wax paper and freeze until very firm, about 1 hour.
  5. Roll the frozen balls in melted chocolate.  (I just melted the chocolate chips in the microwave)
  6. Refrigerate until the chocolate is set, about 30 minutes.

EatingWell tells me that each truffle should have:  64 calories; 4 g fat ( 1 g sat , 2 g mono ); 1 mg cholesterol; 5 g carbohydrates; 2 g added sugars; 2 g protein; 1 g fiber; 53 mg sodium; 65 mg potassium.

However, I have some tips & lessons learned for you guys:

First, I TRIPLED this recipe.  And still ended up with only around 20 truffles.  So, I guess next time I’ll go a bit smaller.  I thought the balls I rolled were already pretty small, but then after you put them in the chocolate they do get bigger.  Now that I re-read the ingredients, I see it says to use a teaspoon.  My bad.

Second, be patient.  I was so inpatient during the cooling steps that I started on the next steps too soon and then things just got messy.  And then I got frustrated.  Don’t do that.  Let them cool completely before moving on.

Third, just have Bridget roll the frozen balls in the melted chocolate.  She’s way better at it than I am.  And probably better than you will be too.  Sorry, it’s just the truth.

These aren’t that pretty.  And really shouldn’t look like this.  But I promise you they taste delicious.

I will try these again and learn from my mistakes!

Any tips for truffle making?!

Off for a night of chocolate, wine, and fun with the gals!  🙂

Valentine’s Day M&M Pretzel Bites

Happy Valentine’s Week!

Anyone need a last-minute quick and easy treat to make for Valentine’s Day this week?

Valentine’s Day M&M Pretzel Bites

Recipe inspired by me!

Ingredients

  • 1 bag of pretzel snaps
  • Hershey’s kisses – I used dark chocolate
  • Seasonal M&M’s

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees.
  2. Place the pretzels on greased baking sheets.
  3. Place a chocolate kiss in the center of each pretzel.
  4. Bake for 2-3 minutes or until chocolate is softened, and remove from the oven.
  5. Right away, place an M&M on each.  You will want to press down slightly so the chocolate forms a circle with the M&M in the center.
  6. Refrigerate for 5-10 minutes or until chocolate is firm.

These are a great go to for any occasion!  If off-season, you can still make with regular M&M’s.  And I’ve done them before for Christmas and other holidays as well.  The hardest part of this recipe is unwrapping all of the Hershey’s kisses.  It just takes awhile.  Also, for knowing how many to make, I kind of just eyeball it!

The girls and I are having a little gals Valentine’s celebration tonight, so I’ll be munching on these then.  I’m excited!

Is anyone else baking for Valentine’s Day this week?  What are you making?